James Hickman

James Hickman

James Hickman


Dr. James Hickman’s lab involves the creation of new test-beds of functional cellular systems to investigate spinal cord repair, ALS and Alzheimer’s. James Hickman lab has also been heavily involved in integrating biological and cell-based systems with MEMS devices, primarily microelectronic devices. Dr. Hickman published the first serum-free, defined culture system for neuronal systems (Schaffner et al., 1995) and has now extended this from rat to mouse, both embryonic and adult, as well as to human and chimeric systems of human and rat constructs. These defined in-vitro systems can now be integrated with many cells and combinations of different cell-types, which has culminated by the recent publication of multi-organ toxicity in a 4-organ system. He is also a founder (with Michael Shuler) and current Chief Scientific Officer of Hesperos.


Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1990

B.S.E. Pennsylvania State University, 1983

Awards, Honors, and Distinctions:

2016 Finalist for Cade Museum Prize for Innovation in State-of-Florida

2015 Lush Prize, Science Category, Supports Animal Free Testing

2009-2013 Board of Director’s member, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

2007 Elected as a Fellow, American Vacuum Society

2004 Elected as a Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

2002 NSF Director’s Award for Collaborative Integration for contributions to integrating biology and information technology research program

1995, 1994, 1993 SAIC Publication Award

1995, 1993 Berman Award (Outstanding publication from the NRL)

1995 SAIC Technology Achievement Award

1989 MIT Gold Award for community service.

Representative Publications:

  1. J.J. Hickman, C. Zou, D. Ofer, P.D. Harvey, M.S. Wrighton, P.E. Laibinis, C.D. Bain and G.M. Whitesides, “Combining Spontaneous Molecular Assembly with Microfabrication to Pattern Surfaces: Selective Binding of Isonitriles to Platinum Microwires and Characterization by Electrochemistry and Surface Spectroscopy,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 111:7271 (1989).
  2. P.E. Laibinis, J.J. Hickman, M.S. Wrighton and G.M. Whitesides, “Orthogonal Systems for Self-Assembled Monolayers: Alkanethiols on Gold and Alkane Carboxylic Acids on Alumina,” Science 245:845 (1989).
  3. N. Leventis, M.O. Schloh, M.J. Natan, J.J. Hickman and M.S. Wrighton, “Characterization of a “Solid-State” Microelectrochemical Diode Employing a Poly (vinyl alcohol)/Phosphoric Acid Solid-State Electrolyte: Rectification at Junctions between WO3 and Polyaniline,” Chem. Mat. 2:568 (1990).
  4. J.J. Hickman, D. Ofer, C. Zou, M.S. Wrighton, P.E. Laibinis and G.M. Whitesides, “Selective Functionalization of Gold Microstructures with Ferrocenyl Derivatives via Reaction With Thiols or Disulfides: Characterization by Electrochemistry and Auger Electron Spectroscopy,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 113:1128 (1991).
  5. J.J. Hickman, D. Ofer, P.E. Laibinis, G.M. Whitesides and M.S. Wrighton, “Molecular Self-Assembly of Two-Terminal, Voltammetric Microsensors With Internal References,” Science 252:688 (1991).
  6. J.J. Hickman and M.S. Wrighton, “Face-Specific Interactions of Anionic Sulfur Donors with Oriented Crystals of (0001) CdX (X = Se, S) and Correlation with Electrochemical Properties,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 113:4440 (1991).
  7. D.A. Kirkpatrick, G.L. Bergeron, M.A. Czarnaski, J.J. Hickman, M. Levinson, Q.V. Nguyen and B.M. Ditchek, “Measurements of Vacuum Field Emission from a Si-TaSi2 Semiconductor-Metal Eutectic Composite,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 59:2094 (1991).
  8. D.A. Kirkpatrick, G.L. Bergeron, M.A. Czarnaski, R.C. Davidson, H.P. Freund, J.J. Hickman, A. Mankofsky, K.T. Tsang, J.M. Schnur, M. Levinson and B.M. Ditchek, “High Brightness Electron Beam Sources for FEL Applications,” Nuclear Instrum. Meth. Phys. Res. (1991).
  9. J.J. Hickman, P.E. Laibinis, D.I. Auerbach, C. Zou, T.J. Gardner, G.M. Whitesides and M.S. Wrighton, “Toward Orthogonal Self-Assembly of Redox Active Molecules on Pt and Au: Selective Reaction of Disulfide with Au and Isonitrile with Pt,” Langmuir 8:357 (1992).

10. J.H. Georger, Jr., D.A. Stenger, A.S. Rudolph, J.J. Hickman, C.S. Dulcey and T.L. Fare, “Co-planar Patterns of Self-Assembled Monolayers for Selective Cell Adhesion and Outgrowth,” Thin Solid Films 210/211:716 (1992).

University of Central Florida

University of Central Florida

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work! Please upgrade today!

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com